Thinking of getting or renewing your Texas Concealed Handgun License? We have an entire branch of training just for you — we call it The Concealed Carry Lifestyle.
If you make the decision to have a firearm in your home for protection or to carry a firearm for self-defense, we offer classes to get you started, get you licensed, and teach you to shoot defensively.
The Concealed Carry Lifestyle program consists of the following courses:
• Texas CHL Initial Course: State mandated course on Texas law, required for concealed carry license ($99.99, offered every weekend). The class is a minimum of 4 hours and a maximum of 6 hours not including range time
NEW: According to new state regulations, Shoot Smart classes scheduled on or after September 1, 2013 will be 4 hours long plus the shooting qualification. The class will begin at 8am and end at 1pm. Several short breaks will be provided; however, a lunch break will not be available. Light snacks and beverages are available for a small fee during breaks.
• CHL Private Lesson: 1-hour lesson to shoot the CHL course of fire under the real test circumstances with coaching. $75/person for full hour
For more information on the CHL courses or to register
for a course click the Book now button above.
Thinking of CHL legal protection? It’s good to have.
Click here for details on the Texas Law Shield program.
Shoot Smart Initial CHL Class: $99.99 Shoot Smart Renewal CHL Class: $49.99 Texas application fee: $140 Electronic Fingerprints Fee: $9.95
You will learn about the Texas firearms and carry laws, the use of force laws, and how to resolve disputes in a nonviolent manner. Classroom instruction takes 4 hours plus range time. All students are required to pass a handgun proficiency test using a pistol of at least .32 caliber. There is also a written examination on course material.
Log on to Texas CHL License Application page to apply for your CHL. At the end of the application, you are asked for credit card payment. You then have an opportunity to go to the electronic fingerprint website, where you can schedule and pay for your fingerprints. At the end of the process, the state emails you a checklist with instructions for obtaining your photos. The CHL-100 form is filled out in class. All documents must be submitted within 1 year of your online application. Fees are not refundable.
CHL Shooting Test
To pass, you must score 175 points (70%) on the skills test. Two-handed shooting is permissible. A traditional silhouette target (shown) is used in the test. Trainees have three attempts to pass the skill test. Use either a semi automatic or revolver to qualify, as of September 1, 2013 the state no longer classafies a licence with semi auto or non semi auto.
8, 9, 10 rings = 5 points 7 ring = 4 points On target, but outside of rings = 3 points.
Timed Course of Fire:
3 yards, 20 rounds:
7 yards, 20 rounds:
15 yards, 10 rounds:
|1 shot, 2 seconds, 5 times||5 shots, 10 seconds, 1 time||2 shots, 6 seconds, 1 time|
|2 shots, 3 seconds, 5 times||2 shots, 4 seconds, 1 time||3 shots, 9 seconds, 1 time|
|5 shots, 10 seconds, 1 time||3 shots, 6 seconds, 1 time||5 shots, 15 seconds, 1 time|
|1 shot, 3 seconds, 5 times|
|5 shots, 15 seconds, 1 time|